43. Stone – Enjoy by 12.21.2012

Normally I just talk about beer, because I know beer.  I’m good at discussing it.  This week I want to talk about something more serious, partly because it’s tragic and partly because I don’t understand it.

On Friday morning, 6 adults and 20 children were shot and killed at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut.  It’s a tragedy.  I huge tragedy.  After hearing about it for a couple days, I’m really having a hard time with it.

Maybe it’s because I’m a father now, and the fact that so many children were senselessly killed is the problem, but I think it’s the fact I can’t understand it.

People have been comparing this to Columbine and other senseless shootings, but those I can understand.  I’m not trying to discount those events, because they were all incredibly tragic, but I get them.  I can see how and why those people went crazy and took out their insanity on people that tormented them.  I am in no way attempting to defend them, I’m just voicing that I can grasp what happened.

Friday’s tragedy is beyond my mental grasp.  I don’t get it, I don’t understand it at all.  What could 6 and 7 year old kids have possibly done?  How could they possibly deserve what happened?  I don’t get it.  I don’t think I ever will, and I think that’s part of the reason I’m having such a hard time with this situation.

I feel incredibly sad for everyone involved in that horrible tragedy and my heart goes out to them.  I know my little words and little blog can do nothing for those that have lost, but hopefully with the support of everyone the lives of those affected will one day regain some sense of normalcy.  My deepest condolences.

Well, I know talking about beer at those point is kinda lame, but this is a beer blog and I’m going to try and maintain my normalcy.

This week I had the pleasure of finding the Stone Enjoy by 12.21.2012.

enjoybySight:  Pale yellow with a thin white head.  Nothing extraordinary here, it looks pretty boring.

Smell:  This is where everything changes.  This beer is full of hops.  Tons of grassy, floral, citrusy hops crush your nose.

Taste:  All hops, all day.  Grassy, floral, sweet, citrusy, it has every hop flavor you can possibly think of.  There’s a mild maltiness along that backbone that holds it all together.  A light booziness makes an appearance in the finish, once you get past all those hops.

My overall grade:  B+

If you enjoy hops, you’re going to enjoy the Enjoy By series that Stone’s been putting out. This sucker is slammed to the brim with hops, multiple varieties with loads of aroma and flavor. It’s low on the bitterness considering how much hop flavor and aroma is present.  A great beer.  It may be tough to find this guy, but if you see it, grab it.  And remember, you have until next Friday to enjoy it.  Not because it’s the end of the world, but because this beer is only guaranteed fresh until then.

Now, I’m off to hug my daughter.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

