37. Hopothesis – IPA

I finally made it out to a Cubs game. Been living about a mile away from the stadium for about 11 months and I finally, FINALLY, made it to a Cubs game.

Part of the joy of going to Wrigley Field is being able to relax and rip through a handful of Old Styles. Well, based on how the Cubs are doing this season, it may be the only joy. So, as you can see by the picture over there, I did my part and took down as many Old Styles as I could before the beer man said he couldn’t sell anymore. The sad part now is that untappd.com thinks my favorite beer is Old Style. Awful.

Anyway, we kicked back and watched the game from right field. Seats weren’t too bad, and the game actually wasn’t too bad either. Until the 9th inning when the Brewers decided they were tired of the Cubs hanging on and they put up 9 runs.

There’s always next year, right?

I got a hold of the Hopothesis IPA this week, which just started distributing around the area. I imagine the brewers hand delivering to all the local liquor stores. Seriously. It’s legal to do that here in Illinois (if you have a license).

Sight:  Deep bronze color with a nice creamy thick head

Smell:  Lots of floral hops floating about, it is an IPA after all

Taste:  Hoppy throughout, but not overpowering. It never gets too bitter. There’s a nice malty backbone and a subtle dry finish.

My overall grade:  B+

A great start for a new brewery. I’m looking forward to what they’ll come out with next.

The Bruery’s Tart of Darkness looks and sound scary. But, in the name of beer-tasting, I had to drink it!

Sight:  Pepsi. Honestly, it looks like I poured a Pepsi into that glass. Don’t be fooled though.

Smell: Mild coffee aroma with TONS OF FUNKY SOURNESS

Taste:  Sweet malts, chocolate, coffee, dried cherries, tangy sourness… it’s a little too complex for me to come up with everything. The finish was light and dry.

My overall grade:  A-

I’m fairly certain I could hear my taste buds exploding as I drank this. It’s definitely not a beer for everyone, but if you like sours, this is a good one.

Now, I gotta get my raincoat ready for Isaac’s visit.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

