34. Breckenridge – Agave Wheat

I got a parking ticket on Tuesday.  I’m pretty disappointed by this.  Now, had I known that I was nestling my car into a No Parking zone, this wouldn’t aggravate me so much.  When I got to my car and found the ticket, I was dumfounded.  I did, however, figure out why I got the ticket, but I still think the City of Chicago is duping people out on Montrose Beach.

To explain my point, I offer the following picture (which I’ll call Defense Exhibit A):

 

The street you see there is Montrose Drive.  I had parked my car where the letter “B” is.  Now, there were 4 other cars parked ahead of me, and at the letter “A” is a No Parking sign.  My understanding when I pulled in was that any cars parked ahead of the “A” were in violation.  I thought I was safely behind the sign (and behind 4 other cars), so I left my car.  What I didn’t realize was at the letter “C”, there’s another No Parking sign.  So, I’m now stuck with paying the city what would normally be beer money.  Boo!

Oh well.  You live and you learn, right?

Before my funding was drained by the City of Chicago, I was able to enjoy the Breckenridge Agave Wheat and the New Belgium/Lost Abbey Brett Beer.

I picked out the Breckenridge Agave Wheat in hopes that it would be a nice summer beer that I could sit out in the sun and enjoy.  My hopes were confirmed.

Sight:  Light orange in color and slightly cloudy.  It looked thin and pretty bubbly.

Smell:  Mostly citrus aromas floating around.  A gentle mix of orange and lemon with a hint of wheat tossed in.

Taste:  Crisp, light and slightly creamy.  There’s a sweet orange and lemon flavor mixed in with the malts.  The finish is light and refreshing.

My overall grade:  B+

This really is a beer that you can relax and enjoy out in the sun.  I’m sure I’ll be getting more of these.

When I picked up the New Belgium/Lost Abbey Brett Beer, my only thought was this beer will be sour and funky and it will be awesome!

Sight:  A pale golden color with very slight cloudiness.  Lots of bubbles and a big head.

Smell:  There was a subtle fruitiness floating around; I’m gonna go with raspberries and strawberries.  A gentle spicy aroma stuck out with a mild funkiness, which seemed promising.

Taste:  A soft mouthfeel gave way to heavy carbonation and lots of tiny bubbles.  The flavor was sweet and fruity with a light sourness.

My overall grade:  B-

I was a bit disappointed with this one.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a bad beer.  But, I really was holding out for some funky sourness that never really showed up.  That Brett Beer label was a little deceiving.

Well, I’m off to pay my bills.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

