33. Stillwater – A Saison Darkly

We went to the Shedd Aquarium this past weekend.  It was awesome!  Well, it was pretty cool for me (cause, ya know, I’m old and I’ve seen lots of fish before), but it was incredible for my daughter.  Eleanora went crazy for the fish!  Or as she likes to call them “ish!”.  For this week, she wanted me to share a letter she “wrote”.

Dear Shedd Aquarium,

I’d like to let you know that you are the coolest.  I saw lots of fish.  And when I say lots, I mean LOTS.  The first tank had so many fish; I wasn’t sure what to do.  I like that I can get right up to the glass and yell at the fish so they will look at me.  Especially the big fish that look like they might eat me, but they seem too tired and slow to catch me.  Thank you.

I would also like to say that you might want to be more fastidious with your entry requirements.  There were so many kids there that didn’t seem to appreciate the sheer number and variety of fish in your building.  I kept yelling at them and pointing to the glass to make sure they truly noticed and appreciated all the fish, but many of them didn’t seem to grasp the intricacies of such a glorious establishment.

Thanks!

Eleanora

It really was a blast.  Her screaming at the fish was hilarious.

This week, I got a hold of Stillwater’s A Saison Darkly and the latest Two Brothers 15th Anniversary beer.

First up, the Stillwater A Saison Darkly

Sight:  Dark, dark brown in color.  Under the lights, there’s a slight ruby tint hiding in the shadows.  Also, very bubbly, pour slowly.

Smell:  Lots of spice and sweetness.  There’s and underlying mixture of dried fruits that sneaks out to let you know it’s more complex than it seems.

Taste:  Creamy mouthfeel with lots of fruit and spice.  It’s very complex and layered with plenty of flavor to keep your tongue guessing.  And just when you think it’s going to relax, a light coffee and chocolate flavor holds everything together on the back.

My overall grade:  A

This is a great beer.  If you find it, get it.  It’s kinda pricey for a single bottle, but it’s worth it.

Next, the Two Brothers Take Two

Sight:  A nice golden color and crystal clear

Smell:  Malty aromas, it seemed almost kolsch-like

Taste:  Malty flavor with a light mouthfeel.  The finish was a bit bitter, but not overpowering.  It honestly seemed like an overhopped kolsch.

My overall grade:  B-

The story behind the beer is pretty interesting.  Two Brothers decided to use 2 varieties of every ingredient going into the beer.  Two water sources, two barley types, two hop varieties, and an ale yeast and a lager yeast.  It’s a pretty good beer.

Well, I better get to Petco and find my daughter a fish tank.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

