28. Sixpoint – Apollo

By the time you read this, I’ll be in DC.  My little family and I will be taking a nice long weekend trip to the nation’s capital.

It’s gonna be a weekend jammed packed with visiting family and friends, which I’m sure will end with me being completely exhausted.  I’m beginning to find that my vacations aren’t very relaxing.  But, there’s never a dull moment, so that exhausted feeling is always worth it.

I’ll be sure to get a hold of a few DC-area beers, hopefully some hard to find stuff.

Let me know if you’ll be in DC this weekend and I’ll do my best to meet up with you.

This week I’ve started my shift into summer beers.  I like relaxing with a nice light beer while only mixing in the occasional big beer.  Ah, summer.

This week I’m reviewing my first canned beer.  Sixpoint recently made their way to Chicago and I’m sure their sales are through the roof.  Everyone here is talking about them (rightfully so).  I got a hold of the Apollo.

Sight:  Golden in color and slightly cloudy.

Smell:  Bananas and citrus fruit with a wheaty undertone. Like a fruit salad in an open grain field.

Taste:  Citrusy and tangy with a gentle sweetness.  It’s not malty and settles in nice and light.  A nice wheat beer, and especially exciting coming from a can.

My overall grade:  B+

A great beer to sip while sitting out on the front porch yelling at the damn kids to GET OFF THE LAWN!

Two Brothers 15th Anniversary Beer #4 – Pillar of Salt

Sight:  Bright golden color and crystal clear.

Smell:  Light malty scent, very slight rye spiciness, not a lot there.

Taste:  Thick malty backbone with a spicy rye bite.  Surprisingly bitter finish.

My overall grade:  B-

This one wasn’t as good as the others, but still a decent beer.  I was able to find this on draft at Sheffield’s, but I’m hoping to find a bottle soon.  It’s becoming like a little treasure hunt at the local liquor store.

Now, I better get packing.  Let me know if you want me to say hi to Obama.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

