21. Half Acre – Daly Double & Cipher plus Thomas Hardy

Today I’m going to start with an apology.  I’m sorry.

I know, I know.  It’s been a few weeks.  Please don’t call me lazy, I’ve been very busy.

You last heard from me about 3 weeks ago, so I’ve got a little catching up to do.  Below is my 5 minute summary of the past few weeks:

First, I survived St. Patty’s Day.  It was crazy.  Chicago takes St. Patrick’s Day very seriously.  And, on top of that, St. Patrick’s Day fell on a Saturday.  Aaaaaand, on top of that, it was about 75 degrees and sunny outside.  So, it was a little out of hand out here.  I stayed out of the streets, to say the least.  We did, however, go on a boat ride in the morning up the Chicago River to watch them turn it green.  It was a blast.  Check it out:

Second, my daughter had her first birthday!  It was pretty wild.  Lots of fun, good food, good people.  We’re currently buried under new toys, clothes, and gifts.

Third, I was able to try a bunch of new beer.  Hooray!  Here are a few:

Half Acre Daly Double

Sight:  Dark copper color with a nice white lingering head

Smell:  Floral hop aroma with a green grape scent mixed in

Taste:  Lots of bitter hops in the taste.  It’s grassy and citrusy.  Also, it was slightly spicy, like a rye beer.  It finished fairly thin with a light bitterness.

My overall grade:  B-

Not a bad IPA.

This beer was named for Terry Daly, who sadly passed away recently.  To have a beer named after you seems like a great dedication to me.

Half Acre Cipher

Sight:  Bright golden in color.  It’s bright and clear with a thin head.

Smell:  Floral hops and cloves.  Its Belgian roots shine through.

Taste:  Tangy, citrusy, dry, with a slightly bitter finish.  It fit its Belgian Blond mold perfectly.

My overall grade:  B+

A very tasty beer, plus they put a tricky puzzle on the bottle.  A mind-bender on the bottle, a mind-number in the bottle.  Well done.

Eldridge Pope Thomas Hardy’s Ale (1987)

Sight:  Dark brown, slight red hues

Smell:  Dried fruits, and lots of booze

Taste:  Very strong.  Slight sweetness, mild sourness.  Very syrupy mouthfeel with a lingering boozy burn.

My overall grade:  A-

It’s nearly impossible to find and nearly impossible to drink by yourself.  But, it was my daughter’s birthday, so it seemed like a worthy celebration beer.

Now, hopefully I’ll write again sooner.  Oh, before I go, happy birthday mom!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

