20. O’Fallon Hemp Hop Rye

This week has been all about preparing a bid for Sandblast.  Oh Frisbee, how I’ve missed you.

For those of you that don’t know, Sandblast is an ultimate frisbee tournament here in Chicago played on the beach.  It’s supposedly one of the better beach ultimate tournaments in the country.

It’s also a short bus ride from my home.  (win-win!)

All week long my DC buddies (and those that have moved from the area) have been discussing the tournament, how we can get in, and what our team name will be.  As of right now, we’re going with Bandit’s Trans Am, though that may change.  The idea of those clowns driving out to Chicago in a Winnebago is one of the most ridiculous things I can think of.

I’m really hoping we can get a bid.  It’s been over a year since I’ve played, and I’m itching to get back out there.

For those interested in more info on Sandblast, go here: SandBlast

/cue Cheech & Chong voice

Hey, man! What’s going on, man? I heard you were having a beer, man.

What’s this? Hemp? Sweeeeet.

Listen, man, I’ve got, like, friends that would totally love that beer, man.

Dave’s not here, man.

/sorry

This week I had O’Fallon’s Hemp Hop Rye.  I’ll admit I definitely thought this beer was going to be awful.  I’ll also admit I was pleasantly surprised.

Sight:  Orange in color, slightly opaque, with a thin white head

Smell:  Lots of floral hops in the aroma, with a little spiciness from the rye

Taste:  Mild malty sweetness that lingers throughout. There’s a nice spicy rye flavor with some grassy hops thrown in.  The bitterness is very light.

My overall grade:  B

I was very surprised with this beer.  I could definitely see myself having a few of these without being disappointed.

Now, I gotta go clean off my cleats.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. 20. O'Fallon Hemp Hop Rye « Chi-Town tAles | The Hemp Network News

Leave a Reply

