15. Chi Town – Windy City Wheat

Oh homebrew, how I’ve missed you.

Finally getting back to brewing was a blast.  It’s been nearly half a year, so I had to shake off a little rust, but I got back into the swing of things fairly quickly.  Also, we were brewing all grain beers (as opposed to my usual extract and partial mash methods).

All grain is a step above my usual brewing.  It definitely gives you the feel of brewing like a professional and the results tend to be a bit more positive.  However, you’re looking at brewing longer and larger amounts.  For example, when Pyzocha and I were brewing, we maxed out at about a 3 gallon mash and 5 gallon boil, and brewed for 4 hours at most.  With all grain brewing, Jason and I had about an 8 gallon mash and 10 gallon boil, and brewed for about 9 hours.  (the mash is the first step in the brewing process, for more info check Wikipedia)

For this brew Jason threw together a recipe for a chocolate milk stout (which is right in my wheelhouse).  Lots of heavy grains, delicious looking dark wort, and a bunch of lactose sugar (something I hadn’t used before).

So far, the beer looks good.  It’s currently in the primary fermentation waiting for the yeast to do its best and turn that super-sweet liquid into something drier and full of booze.  After the primary, Jason plans on tossing in cocoa nibs (and you know I love those things!).

I can’t wait to try it!

This week I gave another Chicago beer a shot.  Coming from Chi Town Brewing, I had the Windy City Wheat.  The entire name is a long Chicago cliché, and the beer was a bit of a letdown.

Sight:  Pale yellow in color and crystal clear.  When I think of a wheat beer, it’s never clear.  This beer already seemed to be missing something.

Smell:  Mild cloves in the aroma with a slight Belgian scent.  There was a hint of wheat, but nothing crazy.  The aroma was a bit dull.

Taste:  Spicy and tangy.  There was a little banana in there with a slightly sour and crisp finish.  Blah.

My overall grade:  D+

I was very disappointed with the Windy City Wheat.  It has some Belgian-style flavoring to it, which is kinda nice.  But it just doesn’t seem to fit right with the beer’s overall design.

This Sunday is the Super Bowl!  I’m looking forward to the game.  Hopefully the Patriots pull this one off.  I’m sure I’ll be talking about it next Thursday.  In the meantime, here’s my baby to help cheer on the Pats!

Go Pats!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Does DYFS know you’re dressing your child like that?

    I’ve got a Dan Marino jersey from when I was 6 that I can send you.

    Reply
  2. You poor Miami fan. It’s been quite a while since you’ve been in the Super Bowl, and the only time we hear about a Super Bowl run is when another team is going for a perfect season and we have to listen to Mercury Morris everyday.

    Reply
  3. Thank you for your rating of D+, but we just recently received a “Gold Medal”Chicago Beer Company
    Chi-Town Windy City Wheat
    Gold Medal
    90
    Faintly hazy pale golden amber color.
    Aromas of honeyemd graham cracker pie
    crust, chamomile tea, and orange
    pastry with a supple, medium body and
    a seamlessly smooth pepper bread and
    lettuce accented finish. A delicious,
    well balanced wheat beer.

    Reply
    • m, I’m happy to hear a local brewery picked up a gold medal! Where did you get it from? Maybe the beer I picked up wasn’t the freshest (I did have it in February, not exactly wit season). I’d be happy to check out your new location, when is it opening and where in the west loop are you? Perhaps a Windy City Wheat fresh from the tap will change my view. Thanks!

      Reply
  4. Oh, please feel free to call me at our new location coming this fall in the west loop!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

