14. Left Hand – Milk Stout Nitro

This weekend is going to be great.  I can’t wait for Saturday.

Now, I know what you’re thinking:  “What could it be?”, “It must be something great!”, “Why won’t you just tell me already!”

I’m brewing again!

I finally get to make my own beer again.  It’s been quite a while since the last batch.  Hopefully I won’t be too rusty.

I’ll be meeting up with a friend on Saturday at his place to brew (since my current apartment isn’t quite spacious enough for my own brewpub).  I lucked out after meeting friends to watch football.  Turns out a friend of a friend is an avid homebrewer, so the logical thing to do is join him to brew something great (obviously).

I’m not sure what we’ll be making yet.  Since it’s my first time joining him, I’ve let him decide on the beer and I’ll just be riding along helping out.  Also, this will be my first all grain brew.  Excitement all around!

I’ll be sure to fill you guys in on how it goes.  If all goes well, I’ll have something delicious to drink in about a month.

This past Sunday I watched the Patriots and Ravens battle it out.  My beer of choice for the game was the Left Hand Milk Stout Nitro.  I love the regular Milk Stout, so I figured the Nitro would be a good pick.  I got through 4 of them during the game.  The pace at which I had them was entirely dependent on what was happening on the field.  I think I had 2 during the majority of the game, and then ripped through 2 more in the last 5 minutes.  It’s all about stress management folks.

Sight:  Black in color, with that neat cascading thing that a Guinness does.  It left a nice thick, creamy head on top.

Smell:  There was a mild sweet biscuit aroma, with a slight sourness from the lactose.

Taste:  The flavor was great!  Rich and creamy to start that thins out toward the finish with a little lactose tanginess thrown in there.  The mouthfeel is exactly like a Guinness.  (it’s a nitro pour, duh)

My overall grade:  A-

Note:  They trademarked it as “America’s Stout”, which I thought was kinda ballsy.  But, it’s very good, so I’ll let it go.

The Left Hand Milk Stout Nitro is definitely worth seeking out.  It’s fairly easy to spot due to its all black packaging.

I’m off to find my brewin’ shoes.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Caryn

     /  January 31, 2012

    Could this be why they are so ballsy in that claim?: “Left Hand Brewing will make a big splash tonight by becoming the first craft brewer in the United States to release a nitro beer in a bottle…” http://beeradvocate.com/forum/read/4110171

    But for the lactose, I’d love to try it. Damn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

