11. 5 Rabbit – 5 Lizard

Happy New Year!

Yes, that’s a picture of my daughter, and, no, it’s not photoshopped at all.

Today, I’ll be giving you a little peek into my New Year’s celebration!

That being said, remember I’m married with a baby.  So, if you’re expecting some debaucherous story about booze and naked people, you may want to stop reading now.  My sex, drugs, and rock and roll days are in the past.

For New Year’s this year we went to my sister-in-law’s place for an epic feast.  Everything started around 6pm and it was a meandering culinary trip until midnight.  Here’s the flow of the evening.

6:30pm

  • Stuffed Artichokes
  • Steamed Mussels in White Wine Sauce

7:30pm

  • Lamb Shanks in Olive and Orange Sauce

8:30pm

  • Grilled Balsamic Marinated Octopus
  • Fresh Tossed Salad

10pm

  • Coconut Sorbet
  • Grilled Pineapple with Cinnamon

11pm

  • Bacon-wrapped Dates

By midnight I thought I was going to burst.  The food was absolutely incredible!

But, you know me, and it’s not a New Year’s celebration without beer!  All while tearing through that amazing food, I was working my way through a growler of Half Acre’s Callow Knife (only available at the brewery in growler pours).  A fresh-from-the-tap APA with crisp Citra hops.  It was the perfect complement to everything.  It was a New Year’s celebration worth repeating.  Maybe next year?

My first review of 2012 is of the 5 Rabbit 5 Lizard.  I know the name doesn’t make a whole lot of sense, but it doesn’t really matter if you make good beer.  5 Rabbit is brewed right here in Chicago and celebrates its Latin culture.  The 5 Lizard is a Latin-style Witbier with some added spices and fruit.

Sight:  Pale yellow in color with a light bubbly head, which fits the witbier style perfectly

Smell:  It has a light wheaty, oatmeal-like aroma with a little citrus thrown in

Taste:  The flavor was very light and crisp.  It very refreshing and would be easy to drink a bunch of.  The only part I didn’t really like was the strong lime flavor in the finish.  It lingered a little too long for my liking.

My overall grade:  B-

The 5 Lizard is a great beer for a hot summer day.  Or, if you’re like me, drink it on the coldest day of the year… so far.

Now, I’m off to sign up for a new gym membership.  Gotta go burn some calories.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

